Members of the Penn State HR team receiving the HR Excellence Award

Penn State Human Resources team garners award for excellence

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Penn State Human Resources has undergone a significant, multi-year transformation, and the unit's efforts were recently recognized by the eastern region of the College and University Professional Association for Human Resources (CUPA-HR) as this year’s recipient of the HR Excellence Award.

The award recognizes transformative HR work in higher education, resulting in significant and ongoing organizational change. During Penn State’s HR Business Process Transformation, the HR team has been instrumental in launching the University’s new human capital management and payroll system, WorkLion; introducing HR shared services; and updating University policies and processes.

“The HR transformation has been a long journey,” said Mary Beahm, interim vice president for human resources. “This award is a direct reflection of the hard work and dedication by the HR staff across the University and the University’s willingness to improve our HR practices.”

Beahm accepted the award on behalf of Penn State during the CUPA-HR eastern region spring conference April 9 in Baltimore. As recipients of the regional award, Penn State will automatically qualify for consideration for CUPA-HR’s national HR Excellence Award, which will be announced in October during the organization’s national conference in Indianapolis.

In addition to the award recognition, it also was announced at the CUPA-HR eastern region spring conference that Clint Eury, HR strategic partner for several Penn State Finance and Business units, was selected as a new eastern region board member.

“Having the ability to lead and collaborate with fellow higher education HR professionals is an honor,” said Eury. “I look forward to the experience and positively influencing HR best practices both here at Penn State and in the higher education HR community.”

Eury’s three-year commitment to the CUPA-HR eastern region board begins July 1, 2018.